Schoolhouse Road, the two old school houses
The 1st School House, c. 1820
Originally located near intersection of Schoolhouse Rd. & Mead St., across from the Homestead (the building is no longer there).
A little frame schoolhouse on Enoch’s property, David Irving Mead, a grandson of Enoch Mead, commented that all his aunts, uncles and cousins received a very good education there – they were all well informed and their letters were well written, with their ideas clearly expressed. This was the only education that that generation received, at the ‘little school on the cross road.’
The 2nd School House, c.1894
built by Robert Hoe III
As noted above, the original schoolhouse was on Mead Street. This displeased Robert Hoe, who lived further north on Mead, where the Waccabuc Country Club is now located. He preferred that it be relocated on the side road off Mead Street (Schoolhouse Road). Spirited arguments surfaced between Hoe and George W. Mead. The matter was peacefully resolved when Hoe offered to build a new and better school on the side street which was subsequently named Schoolhouse Road. The Mead Street school was demolished and a fine new school was then built on the new site. It was dedicated in 1894. Years later, Miss Constance Hunt recalls hearing people describe the dedication as a gala affair supported by “extensive” refreshments.
After the consolidation of Lewisboro schools in 1939, Livingstone Elder remodeled the school, made additions and converted it to a residence in the early 1940s.
The bell tower still stands as part of the home at 11 Schoolhouse Road.
EXPLORE THE OTHER PROPERTIES
1. Mead Cemetery, 2. The Gaard House, 33 Mead Street, 3. The Hunt Homes, 20 & 24 Mead Street, 4. The Homestead, 36 Mead Street, 5. The Cider Mill, 8 Schoolhouse Road, 6. Schoolhouses on Schoolhouse Road, 7. Old Field Preserve, 8. Elmdon, 49 Mead Street, 9. The Gilbert House, 68 Mead Street, 10. Waccabuc Country Club, 90 Mead Street , 11. The Waccabuc Post Office, 2 Post Office Road, 12. The Orchard House, 12 Post Office Road, 13. The Studwell House, 107 Mead Street, 14. Pinecroft Preserve, 15. Pine Croft Farm, 102 Mead Street, 16. Croft Farm, 106 Mead Street, 17. Tarry-A-Bit, 8 Tarry-a-Bit Road, 18. The Bungalow Club, 19. Long Pond Preserve, 20. The Waccabuc Hotel, 21. Fair Acre, 4 Chapel Road, 22. Lakeview, 14 Chapel Road, 23. Jared Mead House, 55 Chapel Road, 24. Mead Memorial Chapel, 2 Chapel Road, 25. Hendy Hap, 152 Mead Street, 26. Tredinock, 163 Mead Street, 27. Meeko, 166 Mead Street, 28. The Cahoone House, 181 Mead Street, 29. Lake Waccabuc, 30. Franklin markers